# Reducing notification overload for a quieter browsing experience in Chrome

DevFeed: [Reducing notification overload for a quieter browsing experience in Chrome](<https://devfeed.tech/articles/reducing-notification-overload-for-a-quieter-browsing-experience-in-chrome-4196.md>)

Original publisher: [Read original article](<https://blog.chromium.org/2025/10/automatic-notification-permission.html>)

Author: Chromium Blog (noreply@blogger.com)

Published: 2025-10-10T17:04:00Z

Content type: article

Language: en

Sources: [Chromium Blog](<https://devfeed.tech/sources/chromium-blog.md>)

Topics: [Chrome](<https://devfeed.tech/topics/chrome.md>), [Authorization](<https://devfeed.tech/topics/authorization.md>), [Android](<https://devfeed.tech/topics/android.md>), [Web](<https://devfeed.tech/topics/web.md>), [experiments](<https://devfeed.tech/topics/experiments.md>)

Tags: [android](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/android.md>), [chrome](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/chrome.md>), [experiments](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/experiments.md>), [feature](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/feature.md>), [launch](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/launch.md>), [none](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/none.md>), [privacy](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/privacy.md>), [product](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/product.md>), [reduce](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/reduce.md>), [safety](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/safety.md>), [testing](<https://devfeed.tech/tags/testing.md>)

## AI overview

Chrome is launching an automatic notification-permission revocation feature for sites with very low user engagement and high notification volume. The feature will roll out on Android and desktop, exclude installed web apps, notify users when permissions are removed, and allow permissions or auto-revocation to be restored or disabled. Testing reduced notification overload with little change in total clicks, while lower-volume sites saw increased clicks.

## Source excerpt

We're constantly working to improve your browsing experience. To help you cut through the noise and reduce notification overload, we're launching a new feature to automatically remove notification permission for sites you haven't interacted with recently. Today, Chrome's Safety Check already does this for other permissions such as camera and location. The feature will be launched in Chrome on Android and desktop. Data indicates that users frequently receive a high volume of notifications, resulting in minimal engagement and high disruption. Less than 1% of all notifications receive any interaction from users. But notifications can be genuinely valuable and helpful. Therefore, this feature will only revoke permissions for sites when there is very low user engagement and a high volume of notifications being sent. This feature does not revoke notifications for any installed web apps. Chrome will inform you when notification permissions are removed. If you prefer to keep getting notifications from a particular website, you can easily re-grant the permission at any time through Safety Check or alternatively by visiting the site and enabling notifications again. You can also choose to turn off the auto-revocation feature entirely. We've already been testing this feature. Our test results show a significant reduction in notification overload with only a minimal change in total notification clicks. Our experiments also indicate that websites that send a lower volume of notifications are actually seeing an increase in clicks. This launch is part of our ongoing commitment to user safety, privacy, and control. We believe this change will lead to a cleaner, more focused browsing experience, and we'll continue to invest in ways to help you manage your online interactions and reduce distractions, so you can make the most of your time online. Posted by Archit Agarwal, Product Manager, Chrome